Saturday, Aug. 29

Weather Condition 79 ° Fair

Clubs and Organizations

Beneath our modest size, there are more than 50 clubs and organizations on the Virginia Wesleyan campus, including some that are bound to catch your interest. From our award-winning newspaper The Marlin Chronicle to academic honor organizations and Greek Life, there's something for everyone. And, if there's something you feel passionate about that's not represented, you're welcome to start an organization to pursue your interest. Becoming part of a college organization is a great way to get involved with campus life, meet people who are interested in the same things you are, and grow as an individual. It's one more way to compound the value of your Virginia Wesleyan experience.

Club Name Description Student Contact Contact Email
APICS Builds and validates knowledge in supply chain and operations management. Enables our community of members, affiliates, and customers to lead in the global marketplace. Sean Romanczyk stromanczyk@vwc.edu
African Student Association Fosters a deeper understanding of African values on  campus through dialogue and other activities. Brittany Anning Banning@Vwc.edu
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated Mission is "Service to All Man Kind".  Strives to create programs that focus on Education, Health, Family Strengthening, the Environment, and Global Impact. Denisha Howard dmhoward@vwc.edu
Alpha Sigma Alpha Promotes high ideals and standards for its members throughout their lives by emphasizing balance among our four aims of intellectual, physical, social and spiritual development.  Morgan Piero mgpiero@vwc.edu
Army ROTC Serves as a leadership course for future leaders of the United States Army. Josh McNamara jmmcnamara@vwc.edu
Beta Beta Beta A society for students, particularly undergraduates, dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study. Amanda Hyre anhyre@vwc.edu
Black Student Union Provides and maintains the best possible conditions in which Black students at Virginia Wesleyan College may receive a complete education.  Cortnee Brandon csbrandon@vwc,edu
Classics Club Open to students who are majoring/minoring in Classical Studies, as well as students who are interested in learning more about classical civilizations. Collette Vauthier cdvauthier@vwc.edu
Commuter Club Offers an outlet to any commuting issues and integrates commuters with campus. Ashley B. Jens abjens@vwc.edu
Delta Phi Alpha (German Honors) Honors society for those enthusiastic about the German language and culture. Must be enrolled in a 300 level German language course and have a grade average 3.0.   Laura Thorn lhousos99@gmail.com
Epsilon Sigma Alpha Nationally affiliated community service organization. Stephanie Williams srwilliams1@vwc.edu
Eta Sigma Phi (Iota Mu Chapter) A national honor society for students of classics and classical languages; advances scholarship and promotes interest in the classics and classical languages. Christopher Merrell camerrell@vwc.edu
European Culture Club Dedicated to learning about the different cultures of the European nations through a weekly meeting covering one nation at a time.  Elizabeth Kayser erkayser@vwc.edu
Games and Strategies Club Brings together a community of people to have fun, both indoors and out, playing video games and doing activities. Christian Menchhofer camenchhofer@vwc.edu
Gamma Sigma Epsilon (Chemistry Honors) National Chemistry honor society that promotes academic excellence, undergraduate research, and scholarship. Keane Dye kjdye@vwc.edu
Gospel Choir Worships God and leads into worship a community of Christian faith. To invite the presence of God through song. Cortnee Brandon csbrandon@vwc.edu
Habitat for Humanity Coordinates habitat work days for students with the South Hampton Roads chapter of Habitat for Humanity. Sierra Brown sgbrown@vwc.edu
Interfraternity Council Assists in the growth of the service and social aspects of fraternity life at Virginia Wesleyan College. TBA TBA
Jesus is Calling Presents Christianity in a modern, applicable, and realistic way. Crystal Lunkin cjlunkin@vwc.edu
LGQBTS Club Promotes tolerance and acceptance on campus and provides a safe, non-judgmental space as a support network for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Straight youth. Alexandria Houston aahouston@vwc.edu
Marlin Business Association Provides a venue through which students can grow and build professional and leadership skills. Achieves these ends through sponsored workshops, tours, and guest speakers.  Members must submit a resume and a letter of recommendation. Marisa Harris meharris@vwc.edu
Marlin Football Club Men's club soccer team competing on an extramural leve. Fosters the qualities of good sportsmanship and quality soccer. Nathan VanRensselaer nlvanrensselaer@vwc.edu
Marlins Go Green Student run initiative to promote a greener, more sustainable community. Students develop solutions and ideas on how to create and advance a more sustainable community. Zachary Drake ztdrake@vwc.edu
Marlins Read A one-on-one mentoring program that helps elementary age students reach their literacy proficiencies at four active sites. Fatima Davis fbdavis@vwc.edu
Math Club Informs students about opportunities in the STEM field and provides study sessions for students who need help with math. Coordinates SET tournaments, movie nights, and Pi Day Celebration. Laura Robusto lerobusto@vwc.edu
Naturalista Reaches out to women with natural hair, specifically women of color, to teach how to take better care of their hair and overall health. Regina Crichlow racrichlow@vwc.edu
Panhellenic Council Facilitates communication among member sororities, organizes cross-chapter events, and promotes the ideals of scholarship, leadership, philanthropy, and sisterhood. Hannah Louk hnlouk@vwc.edu
Phenomenal Woman Seeks to cultivate the leader that is already within each individual, giving them the power to define their success. Sarah Nwokorie phenomenalwoman.vwc@gmail.com
Phi Alpha National Honor Society for Social Work fostering high standards of education. Dani Williams dlwilliams@vwc,edu
Phi Alpha Theta (History) A professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians.  Morgan Piero mgpiero@vwc.edu
Phi Kappa Tau Champions a lifelong commitment to brotherhood, learning, ethical leadership, and exemplary character. Alex Fernandez avfernandez@vwc.edu
Sail Club Helps students learn to sail and have the opportunity to experience the water first hand.  Seleena Cruz sgcruz@vwc.edu
Science Club Provides educational programming related to science occupations and careers, a support structure to increase informal student-student and student-faculty interactions, and opportunities to increase public awareness of science issues.  Stephanie Reidell smreidell@vwc.edu
Sigma Delta Pi (Spanish Honors) Recognizes and honors students who have successfully continued their studies of the Spanish language and their studies of the literature and culture of countries who speak Spanish. Tanya Puccio tpuccio@vwc.edu
Sigma Nu Develops ethical leaders inspired by the principles of Love, Honor,and Truth. Fosters personal growth of each man’s mind, heart and character. Nicolas Lee Snyder nlsnyder@vwc.edu
Sigma Sigma Sigma Establish among members a perpetual bond of friendship, develops in them strong womanly character, and impresses upon them high standards of conduct.  Rachel Lambert rclambert@vwc.edu
Soar Worship Band Worships God and lead into worship a community of Christians. Invites th presence of God through song. Joy Vernon jsvernon@vwc.edu
Social Work Club Promote a closer bond among students of social work and with those dedicated to the promotion of humanitarian goals and ideals. Dani Williams dlwilliams@vwc.edu
Soar Worship Band Worships God and lead into worship a community of Christians. Invites th presence of God through song. Joy Vernon jsvernon@vwc.edu
Phi Alpha (Social Work Club) Promotes a closer bond among students in social work and those dedicated to the promotion of humanitarian goals and ideals. Dani Williams dlwilliams@vwc.edu
Swim Club Promotes swimming for fun Kathryn Guevara kmguevara@vwc.edu
The Course An interactive Bible study; our mission is to learn Christ, love Christ, and live Christ in this world. Jeff Whittaker jeff.francis51@gmail.com
The Marlin Chronicle Student-led, student-run newspaper of Virginia Wesleyan College. Aoife Branco/Thomas Mills acbranco@vwc.edu/tcmills@vwc.edu
The Outlet Student-run literary magazine that features story, poems, and artwork of current students. Published once per year. Chantel Sills and Devante Harris cdsills@vwc.edu dtharris1@vwc.edu
VWC Craft Club Fosters a community of people who either love or want to learn activities like crochet, knitting, jewelry making, sewing, embroidery and more. Olivia Birmingham ogbirmingham@vwc.edu
VWC Student Veterans Organization A community comprised of armed forces veterans providing opportunities for social interaction and community service, and identifying social issues affecting veterans Sarah Wilson sbwilson@vwc.edu
Virginia Wesleyan Dance Team Promotes good health and good grades by instituting study and workout hours to keep both the mind and body in top shape.  Khari Johnson Kcjohnson@vwc.edu
Vocaholics Students performing A cappella music for campus performances. Stephanie Williams srwilliams1@vwc.edu
Young Life Spritual Life opportunity for students who want to grow in the faith and serve their community through leading local high school and middle school students. Rebecca Lazzeri ralazzeri@vwc.edu
Wesleyan Activities Council Student programming board that provides social, educational, and community-building activities on campus. It is the primary programming arm of the Office of Student Activities. Georgia Walker gmwalker@vwc.edu
Wesleyan Weight Lifting All-inclusive fitness club that groups members based on personal fitness goals and preferred training methods to establish a support system designed to motivate one another. Alex Janh acjahn@vwc.edu
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated Founded at Howard University to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood and Finer Womanhood.  Audrey Thames asthames@vwc.edu
Rec and Leisure Majors Club Provides students with opportunities for recreational activities and provides leadership experiences for recreation majors. Morgan Posewitz msposewitz@vwc.edu
Marlin Milers A running/walking group of faculty, staff, and students. Promotes exercise and facilitates training activities for varying skill levels. Kate Griffin agriffin@vwc.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Club Opportunity to play ultimate frisbee and improve personal skills. Alex Gallant ajgallant@vwc.edu
Global Marlins Builds ESL students' English skills and confidence through one-on-one tutoring and caring connections. Tanasia Hazelton tthazelton@vwc.edu
Neighborhood Tutoring Helps children around the community with their homework and tutors them in a specific area when needed. Brittany Tasker bntasker@vwc.edu
Phi Sigma Sigma A dynamic sisterhood of powerful women fostering uncompromising principles, igniting positive change, and embracing individuality. Inspires personal development of each sister. Emily Joy emjoy@vwc.edu
Student Government Association Serves as the liaison between the student body and the College administration. SGA and its Senators host activities which benefit the campus community. Imani West  irwest@vwc.edu
Red Flag Campaign Coordinates an education campaign to raise awareness of dating violence among students. Jess Moss jomoss@vwc.edu
Society for Collegiate Journalists Elevates the cause of mass communications and teaches the ethics, technique, and mechanics of good communication. Members encouraged to participate in local and campus communication media. Aoife Branco acbranco@vwc.edu 
CRU (Campus Crusade for Christ) Helps to fulfill the Great Commission in the power of the Holy Spirit by winning people to faith in Jesus Christ, building them in their faith, and sending them to win and build others. Tanasia Hazelton tthazelton@vwc.edu

Website Comments/Feedback

© 2015 Virginia Wesleyan College