Skip Navigation

Clubs and Organization

Beneath our modest size, there are more than 50 clubs and organizations on the Virginia Wesleyan campus, including some that are bound to catch your interest. From our award-winning newspaper The Marlin Chronicle to academic honor organizations and Greek Life, there's something for everyone. And, if there's something you feel passionate about that's not represented, you're welcome to start an organization to pursue your interest. Becoming part of a college organization is a great way to get involved with campus life, meet people who are interested in the same things you are, and grow as an individual. It's one more way to compound the value of your Virginia Wesleyan experience.

Choose a category: Academics / Professional | Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness | Community Service | Cultural / Diversity | Greek Life | Honors | Leadership Organizations | Special Interest | Spiritual Life

Club Name Category Description Student Contact Contact Email
APICS Academics / Professional APICS builds and validates knowledge in supply chain and operations management. We enable our community of members, affiliates, and customers to lead in the global marketplace. Sean Romanczyk stromanczyk@vwc.edu
Classics Club Academics / Professional To join others with interest in classical history and myth. Elizabeth Quamme dmvine@vwc.edu
Marlins Business Association Academics / Professional Creates experiences with big corporations and companies to see how they work and operate. Marisa Harris meharris@vwc.edu,
Math Club Academics / Professional The Math Club helps students who are struggling in math courses and host fun activities that all deal with math. Anyone can join and we will have a movie night, pizza night, Pi day, and a SET tournament this year. Laura Robusto lerobusto@vwc.edu
Rec and Leisure Majors Club Academics / Professional Provides students with opportunities for recreational activities and provides leadership experiences for recreation majors. Morgan Posewitz msposewitz@vwc.edu
Science Club Academics / Professional Provides educational programming relatied to science occupations and careers, a support structure to increase informal student-student and student-faculty interactions, and opportunities to increase public awareness of science issues on our campus and in the community. This organization is open to all science majors and minors, as well as those with interest in science. Whitney Symons wmsymons@vwc.edu
Social Work Club Academics / Professional   Dani Williams dlwilliams@vwc.edu
Leading Ladies Dance Crew Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness A hip hop dance group for women.  Ashli Eberhardt aleberhardt@vwc.edu
Marlin Football Club Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness The club promotes the game of soccer and provides an opportunity for VWC students to learn and/or further develop their skills. Practice on a weekly schedule to improve our skills and build team bonding without the time commitment or physical commitment of Intercollegiate sports. Nathan VanRensselaer nlvanrensselaer@vwc.edu
Marlin Milers Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness Marlin Milers is Virginia Wesleyan College's walking/running group. Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to join. We coordinate weekly training outings and build towards participation in local races including 5K, 10K, and half-marathon distances. All fitness levels are welcome. Kate Griffin agriffin@vwc.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Club Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness Play ultimate Frisbee, improve personal skills, eventually compete against other colleges Frisbee clubs. Alex Gallant ajgallant@vwc.edu
VWC Dance Team Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness   Kyrie Johnson kcjohnson@vwc.edu
VWC Swim Club Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness Promotion of swimming and other pool activities Kathryn Guevara kmguevara@vwc.edu
Wesleyan Weightlifting Athletics / Intramurals / Fitness An all inclusive fitness club that allows students with similar fitness goals to connect and organize in order to share information, encourage one another, and work out together. Guillaume Perry gxperry@vwc.edu
Epsilon Sigma Alpha Community Service Collegiate ESA members participate in ESA’s national service programs, as well as student volunteer activities on a local and state level. With the flexibility to pursue causes that matter to their chapters, communities, and themselves, collegiate members broaden their educations, build their resumes, and touch lives. Stephanie Williams srwilliams1@vwc.edu
Global Marlins Community Service Provide caring, quality one-on-one mentorship and tutoring to English as Second Language students at neighboring schools. Tanasia Hazelton tthazelton@vwc.edu
Habitat for Humanity Community Service Builds houses in partnership with the working poor. Motivated by the vision of "a decent house in a decent community for God's people in need", students work at local sites. Participation is open to all levels of building skills. Jon Snow josnow@vwc.edu
Marlins Go Green Community Service Raises awareness of how the campus can go green and to see just how fun and easy it can be. Zachary Drake ztdrake@vwc.edu
Marlins Read Community Service Marlins Read is a one-on-one mentoring program that is geared towards helping elementary age students reach their literacy proficiency. With four active sites, the program reaches on average 30-35 students. With the program running all year the same student is mentored with the same volunteer if applicable so that the growth of that student is shown. Fatima Davis fbdavis@vwc.edu
Neighborhood Tutoring Community Service The purpose of this organization is to help the children around the community with their homework and to tutor them in a specific area when needed. Brittany Tasker bntasker@vwc.edu
African Student Association Cultural / Diversity No description available Estelle Ahou Goli  aegoli@vwc.edu
Asian Culture and Entertainment Cultural / Diversity   Ashley Williams arwilliams@vwc.edu
Equality Alliance Cultural / Diversity Unites those who value equal rights for all people regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity; strives to foster awareness, peace, and education to the campus community of these issues. Michele Kelly mlkelly@vwc.edu
Eurpean Culture Club Cultural / Diversity The European Culture Club is dedicated to educating students on the cultural, political, and historical aspects of the nations of Europe. Each week we discuss a different country located within the European community. Elizabeth Kayser ecquamme@vwc.edu
Alpha Kappa Alpha Greek Life The women of Alpha Kappa Alpha promote true sisterhood and friendship and have had an honorable impression on the community. They believe that their members will find social and economic betterment at the local, state, and international levels through scholastics and ethical standards. They were founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University and their colors are salmon pink and apple green. Service to all mankind. Cierra Eldridge cqeldridge@vwc.edu
Alpha Sigma Alpha Greek Life Alpha Sigma Alpha encourage within its sisterhood the physical, intellectual, social, and spiritual growth of its members. Every year the chapter supports Alpha Sigma Alpha's national philanthropy, Special Olympics. Alpha Sigma Alpha wishes to support the members as they become all that is within their reach to be and to establish a community between its young women where possible. Morgan Trent mltrent@vwc.edu
Interfraternity Council Greek Life Promotes all fraternities in our Greek System. The IFC is dedicated in promoting a shared vision of integrity, academic excellence and brotherhood. The IFC is the umbrella organization for the three social fraternities on campus Phi Kappa Tau, Kappa Alpha, and Sigma Nu. RJ Bonniwell gebonniwell@vwc.edu
Kappa Alpha Order Greek Life Kappa Alpha Order is a national fraternity whose two primary goals are the acquisition of knowledge and the development of character. To achieve these goals, Kappa Alpha brothers sponsor and participate in programs for VWC and the greater community. Britt Hipple bthipple@vwc.edu
Panhellenic Council Greek Life The Virginia Wesleyan College Panhellenic Council supports the sororities in our Greek System. The Panhellenic Council promotes values, education, leadership, friendships, cooperation, and citizenship among Greek women. Panhellenic Council is an umbrella organization for the four sororities on campus Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Sigma Alpha, Phi Sigma Sigma, and Sigma Sigma Sigma. Tori O'Leary vmoleary@vwc.edu
Phi Kappa Tau Greek Life Phi Kappa Tau is a national fraternity based on a strong sense of brotherhood and fellowship. Joining the fraternity is considered a special life-long commitment that emphasizes the development of its members both socially and scholastically. Jonathon Smith jrsmith1@vwc.edu
Phi Sigma Sigma Greek Life Phi Sigma Sigma is a dynamic sisterhood of powerful women fostering uncompromising principles, igniting positive change and embracing individuality. The mission of Phi Sigma Sigma is to inspire the personal development of each sister and perpetuate the advancement of womanhood. Each year the chapter supports and raises funds for their philanthropy, the Phi Sigma Sigma Foundation which supports the National Kidney Foundation, with a Rock-a-thon. The women of Phi Sigma Sigma strive everyday to live out their core values of leadership through service, inclusiveness and life long learning. Melissa Hazen mlhazen@vwc.edu
Sigma Nu Greek Life Sigma Nu, the first "social" fraternity chartered at Virginia Wesleyan, promotes the ideals of love, truth, and honor through the Brotherhood. The brothers engage in many campus and community related events that help to develop the character of each person. Richard Ford rlford@vwc.edu
Sigma Sigma Sigma Greek Life To establish among its members a perpetual bond of friendship, to develop in them strong womanly character, and to impress upon them high standards of conduct. Alexis Turner-Lafving acturnerlafving@vwc.edu.
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Greek Life We are a community-conscious, action-oriented organization, here to serve the community by exemplifying our principals of scholarship, service, sisterly love and finer womanhood. Audrey Thames asthames@vwc.edu
Delta Phi Alpha Honors Delta Phi Alpha welcomes students who excel in the study of the German language and literature. Laura Thorn lethorn@vwc.edu
Phi Alpha Theta Honors The international honor society for History; recognizes outstanding academic achievement in the field of history and promotes an appreciation of history among students. The society sponsors speakers, debates, and seminars throughout the year. Morgan Piero mgpiero@vwc.edu
Black Student Union Leadership Organizations Helps blacks and other minorities adapt academically and socially to college life; includes outreach to the Hampton Roads area through positive community events; brings together all aspects of black student life to improve the campus environment for all. Cortnee' Brandan csbrandon@vwc.edu
Student Government Association Leadership Organizations SGA is the liaison between the student body and the College administration. SGA and its Senators host activities which benefit the entire campus community. Imani West irwest@vwc.edu
Wesleyan Activities Council Leadership Organizations WAC is the programming board dedicated to providing quality events and entertainment for the campus community. Rayven Davis rdavis@vwc.edu
Active Minds Special Interest Active Minds empowers students to change the perception about mental health on college campuses. Aoife Branco acbranco@vwc.edu
Army ROTC Special Interest Army ROTC is a program designed to identify, empower, and employ the future leaders of the United States Army. Through activities based at host institution Old Dominion University, cadets will be introduced to military life and eventually be commissioned into the Army as a Second Lieutenant following their graduation at VWC. Joshua McNamara jmmcnamara@vwc.edu
Commuter Club Special Interest Builds resources for commuters and organizes events and fundraisers to help commuters integrate with the campus community. Summer Morris samorris@vwc.edu
Games and Strategies Club Special interest Promoting the enjoyment of and participation in games, including strategy games, video games, tabletop and board games Michelle Van Patten mrvanpatten@vwc.edu
Marlin Jamz Pep Band Special Interest   Laura Robusto lerobusto@vwc.edu
Phenomenal Woman Special Interest   Sarah Nwokorie slnwokorie@vwc.edu
Red Flag Campaign Special Interest Coordinates an education campaign to raise awareness of dating violence among students. Jess Moss jomoss@vwc.edu
Society for Collegiate Journalists Special Interest The Society hopes to elevate the cause of mass communications, and to teach the ethics, technique and mechanics of good communication; Members are also encouraged to participate in local and campus communication media. Aoife Branco acbranco@vwc.edu
The Marlin Chronicle Special Interest Virginia Wesleyan's campus newspaper. The paper is published ten times each school year and provides the College community with information about campus and area happenings. The newspaper also provides students and faculty with an outlet for expressing their interests and concerns. Every student with an interest in writing for or producing a newspaper is invited to join the staff. Thomas Mills tcmills@vwc.edu
Vocaholics Acapella Special Interest   Stephanie Williams srwilliams1@vwc.edu
CRU (Campus Crusade for Christ) Spiritual Life Helping to fulfill the Great Commission in the power of the Holy Spirit by winning people to faith in Jesus Christ, building them in their faith and sending them to win and build others; and helping the Body of Christ do evangelism and discipleship Tanasia Hazelton tthazelton@vwc.edu
Gospel Choir Spiritual Life   Cortnee' Brandan csbrandon@vwc.edu
Jesus is Calling Spiritual Life The purpose of this group is to give students a new perspective on spirituality. It also seeks to deflate the stereotypes of religion and open people's minds in so that they are more informed on what they accept or reject as a belief system. This is a Pro-Choice Life Group, meaning our aim is promote Crystal Lunkin cjlunkin@vwc.edu
SOAR Worship Band Spiritual Life   Joy Vernon jsvernon@vwc.edu
Young Life Spiritual Life   Rebecca Lazzeri ralazerri@vwc.edu

Website Comments/Feedback

©2014 Virginia Wesleyan College